October 13, 2015

Excellent turnout at a discussion event on the implications of a UK exit from the EU for Ireland and Northern Ireland

The potential implications of a UK exit from the EU were the focus of a recent event which took place in Brussels on Tuesday 13th October 2015.  The event introduced the possible repercussions for cross-border mobility for citizens, and for business and economic development, including the agricultural sector. Participants stressed the need for an EU in which Northern Ireland has a strong voice, and for that voice to be heard by the UK Government as it continues its negotiations with other member states.

Mr Andrew Elliot, Director of the Office of the Northern Ireland Executive in Brussels welcomed delegates to the event which was jointly organised by the Centre for Cross Border Studies, the East Border Region, the Irish Central Border Area Network, and the North West Region Cross Border Group.

Speakers addressed several central issues, including:

  • Impacts on cross-border mobility
  • Constitutional implications
  • What kind of European Union do we need?
  • Cross-border and transnational cooperation by Local Authorities
  • Impacts on Agricultural Sector
  • Economic Consequences of a Brexit for Northern Ireland

The event also provided MEPs a platform to present their position on the UK’s EU Referendum. Jim Nicholson MEP, Martina Anderson MEP and Matt McCarthy MEP all made strong and thoughtful contributions.

2015 Brexit NIEO Brussels(33)

The event was well attended by elected representatives from Ireland, Northern Ireland and the EU. Delegates also included Political Advisors, Permanent Reps in Brussels, the Scottish Executive Office in Brussels, the European Commission, EU Cross-border organisations and think tanks, European academics, the NI Local Government Association, Trans-border groups, the Euro Institut, Leuven Institute for Ireland in Europe and many others.

As expected the event has generated a lot of interest in this important issue and the discussion will continue at the Centre’s Annual Conference on 17th and 18th February 2016.

Download the PDF presentations:

  1. Ruth Taillon – CCBS
  2. Annmarie O’Kane – Border People
  3. Anthony Soares – CCBS
  4. Pamela Arthurs – EBR
  5. Shane Campbell – ICBAN
  6. Adam Bedford – British Agriculture Bureau
  7. Edgar Morgenroth – Economic & Social Research Institute


2015 Brexit NIEO Brussels (15) delegates