April 5, 2000

Agriculture Study Day

5 April 2000

The Centre for Cross Border Studies organised a series of workshops for invited Study Groups of 20-30 practitioners and academics.

The first workshop, on Agriculture and Food, took place at the Centre for Cross Border Studies, Armagh, and at the city’s Market Place Theatre and Arts Centre, on 6 April 2000.

Invitations were extended to key individuals in farming and food industry organisations, faculties of agriculture, government departments, semi-state agencies, NGOs and other relevant bodies.

To encourage open discussion it was planned to hold the event under the Chatham House rule, which meant that views expressed by individuals would not be attributed to them in any publication about the event. Although the meeting voted to dispense with that condition, it should not be assumed that anyone present agreed with anything said unless they are named as the speaker.


10.00 am Introduction to the Centre Andy Pollak, Director, CCBS
10.10 Issues in North/South co-operation in agriculture Professor Seamus Sheehy, Faculty of Agriculture, UCD
10.30 Mapping existing co-operation Ciarán Ó Maoláin, Researcher, CCBS
10.45 Tea/coffee break
11.00 Workshops

Each workshop will discuss cross border or island-wide issues specific to its theme, focussing on a question or questions set in advance. Participants select one from:

  • Beef
  • Dairy
12.45 pm Lunch
14.00 Workshops
Format as before.

Participants select one from:

  • Education, training and research
  • Rural development
15.45 Summary reports from workshops (5-10 mins. each)
16.15 Closing remarks Chris Gibson, Chair, CCBS


Euel Agnew United Dairy Farmers Ltd
Michael Bell Exec Director, NIFDA
Eric Boyce Greenmount College
James Campbell Irish Farmers’ Journal
Enda Candon North Connacht Farmers’ Co-op
Aidan Cotter Operations Director, Bord Bia
Seymour Crawford TD Fine Gael
Professor Michael Cuddy NUI Galway
Michael Drake Agriculture Editor, Belfast Telegraph
Michael Farrell Chief Executive, North Connacht Farmers’ Co-operative
Brian Foley Lakeland Dairies
representative Food Safety Authority of Ireland
Chris Gibson CBI & CCBS chair
Vincent Gilhawley Chief Executive, Town of Monaghan Co-operative
David Graham Chief Executive, Fane Valley Cooperative
Larry Kennedy Regional Development Manager, Teagasc
John Keon Managing Director, Donegal Co-op
Con Lucey Ch Economist, Irish Farmers’ Association
Dan McCormick Agrilink
Miceál McCoy Chairperson, NI Agricultural Producers’ Association
Gráinne McGuckin Dept of Agriculture & Food, Dublin
Mairéad McGuinness Editor, Farming Independent
Gerry McHugh MLA Sinn Féin
Alasdair McLaughlin Director General, Ulster Farmers’ Union
Professor Simon Miller Gibson Institute, QUB
Dr Joan Moss Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Agriculture, QUB
Frank O’Donnell Principal Officer, Dept of Agric and Food
Donough O’Neill Rural Enterprise Division, Dept of Agriculture & Rural Development, Belfast
Professor James Phelan Department of Agribusiness., UCD
Dr Thomas Quigley Food Safety Promotion Board
Brid Rogers MLA SDLP
George Savage MLA UUP
Professor Seamus Sheehy University College Dublin
Tom Stainer Chief Economist, Dept of Agriculture & Rural Development
James Stafford CAO Co. Cavan, Teagasc
Dr Valerie Stewart Rural Development Council
Derek Wheeler Joint Secretariat (NSMC)
Richard Wright agriculture journalist

Centre for Cross Border Studies

Andy Pollak

Mairéad Hughes

Dr Patricia Clarke

Ciarán Ó Maoláin

Date / Time Event Details Watch/Listen