The Board

The Centre’s board meets every two months and is chaired by Helen JohnstonSenior Social Policy Analyst, National Economic and Social Council, Dublin.

The other board members are:

The company Secretary is Margaret Connolly Head of Accounting Services, Queen’s University Belfast

Former board members were:

  • Dr Chris Gibson(Chair from 1999-2011), former pro-chancellor, Queen’s University Belfast; former chairman of the Northern Ireland Civic Forum; and chairman of Foyle Meats Group and Wilson’s Country Ltd
  • Sir Bruce Robinson, Head of the Northern Ireland Civil Service and Permanent Secretary to the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister
  • Anne McGeeney, independent consultant, South Down, and former Director, Cross-Border Centre for Community Development, Dundalk Institute of Technology
  • Colin Neilands, Director,Workers’ Educational Association (Northern Ireland)
  • Ciaran Ó Cuinn(2012 – 2013), Executive Director of External and Strategic Affairs, Dublin City University
  • Dr Pauric Travers(1999 – 2013), President of St Patrick’s College of Education, Drumcondra (vice chair)
  • Prof Liam O’Dowd(1999 – 2013), Director, Centre for International Borders Research and Professor of Sociology at Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Jane Wilde (2000 – 2013), Director, Institute of Public Health in Ireland
  • Prof Ronaldo Munck(2005 – 2013), Theme Leader for Internationalisation, Interculturalism and Social Development, Dublin City University
  • Hariet Andrews(1999 – 2004), Careers Officer, Dundalk institute of Technology
  • Rev Liam Carey(1999 – 2005), Director, Centre for Adult and Community Education, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
  • Dr Eileen Connolly(2003 – 2007), Lecturer in politics, Dublin City University
  • Prof Dermot Diamond(2007 – 2010), Director, National Centre for Sensor Research, Dublin City University
  • Prof Mari Fitzduff(1999 – 2003), Director of INCORE at the University of Ulster
  • Richard Jay(1999 – 2007), Senior Lecturer, School of Education, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Stevie Johnston(2000 – 2007), Workers Educational Association (Northern Ireland)
  • Colm McGivern(1999 – 2004), former Deputy Director, Workers Educational Association (Northern Ireland)
  • Paul Nolan(1999 – 2010), School of Education, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Chris O’Malley(1999 – 2005), Strategic Planning Executive, Dublin City University
  • Brian Trench(1999 – 2003), School of Communications, Dublin City University